Skip to content

The best trekking poles for 2026

Poles are argued about in terms of carbon against aluminum, and bought or regretted on the locking mechanism. External lever locks are adjusted with a screw, can be tightened in the field with cold hands, and are what most walkers should look for. Twist locks disappear inside the shaft and are the usual source of a pole that slowly collapses under load. Z-fold poles use an internal cord and a push-button, pack shortest, and adjust over the smallest range. That leads to the second figure: packed length, which decides whether the poles travel on the outside of a pack or inside a suitcase, set against the stated maximum length, which has to suit your height and the descent. On material, an aluminum alloy shaft bends before it fails and can often be straightened; carbon is lighter and stiffer and fails suddenly, and it dislikes being levered sideways between rocks. Then the details that decide comfort: grip material — cork, EVA foam or rubber — the presence of an extended grip below the head for traversing, strap adjustment, and the tip and basket fittings, since baskets are consumable and a proprietary fitting is one you will hunt for. We compare lock mechanism, packed and maximum length, shaft material and section count, weight per pole, grip material and tip and basket fittings.

The ones worth carrying

  1. Vihicamp Collapsible foldable hiking poles

    Folding, lock not named · 15.3 in folded, the shortest in this group · 42.1–49.2 in · aluminum, grade not stated · 9.5 oz per pole · grooved handle, material not named · two snow baskets

    The shortest folded length in the American group at 15.3 inches, with the narrowest adjustment range on the shelf — seven inches — and neither its lock nor its grip material named.

    Best for: A walker whose first requirement is that the poles go inside a suitcase

    ≈ $23

  2. Alpteq folding carbon trekking poles

    Folding carbon 3K · 115–135 cm (45.3 to 53.1 in) · 35 cm (13.8 in) packed · 231 g (8.1 oz) per pole · push-button and Quick-Lock clamp · cork grip · tips and baskets included

    Folding Carbon 3K poles that pack to 35 cm (13.8 in), the shortest in this hub, at 231 g (8.1 oz) each, with carbide tips, snow and mud baskets and a hard case. Currently unavailable on Amazon.com.

    Best for: Flying with poles inside a case, where 35 cm (13.8 in) packed and 231 g (8.1 oz) per pole are the figures being bought — if you can buy them in Europe.

    7.8/10

  3. Atacama folding poles, 3K carbon and aluminum

    Folding · 110–135 cm (43.3 to 53.1 in) · 36 cm packed · 3K carbon with 7075 aluminum · 270 g (9.5 oz) per pole stated · flip-lock lever · cork dual-grip

    A folding pair that names both of its materials — 3K carbon and 7075 aluminum — alongside a flip-lock, a 36 cm (14.2 in) packed length and a stated 270 g (9.5 oz) per pole.

    Best for: A day walk or a trekking tour where a folding pole has to travel inside a case and the weight is being counted.

    7.8/10

  4. DOBESTS folding poles, 110–130 cm

    Folding · 110–130 cm (43.3 to 51.2 in) · 36 cm packed · 7075 aluminum · about 260 g (9.2 oz) per pole, stated · EVA grip · five terrain attachments · lock type not named

    A folding 7075 aluminum pair that publishes a packed length, a range, a height guide and a per-pole weight — and never says what locks it.

    Best for: A walker between roughly 160 and 190 cm (74.8 in) who wants a folding pole with a stated weight and a packed length that fits a case.

    7.8/10

  5. PINUQUEST telescopic aluminum poles, 63–135 cm (24.8 to 53.1 in), 260 g per pole

    Telescopic aluminum · 63–135 cm (24.8 to 53.1 in) · 260 g per pole stated, 210 g (7.4 oz) for the carbon version · cork grips with foam extension · four attachment pairs · lock not named

    A telescopic aluminum pair with cork grips, a very wide range and a stated per-pole weight for both the aluminum and carbon versions — and no lock type and no packed length.

    Best for: A household of mixed heights where a cork grip and a long grip extension matter, and the poles travel on the outside of a pack.

    7.8/10

  6. Amazon Basics CY-SL36C122-3

    Quick outer lock · 25.2–53 in · 6061 aluminum · 9.3–10 oz per pole, published as a range · EVA grip with a polyester down extension · snow and mud baskets, boots and tip covers

    The only listing on this shelf that publishes its weight as a range rather than a number — 9.3 to 10 ounces a pole — on a 6061 pair with a quick outer lock and a full four-season accessory set.

    Best for: A walker who wants the four-season accessories and an external lock for the lowest price with a stated weight

    ≈ $26

  7. Cascade Mountain Tech TP-CF-QL-CORK-GY-3

    Quick Lock lever · 26–54 in · carbon fiber · 8.1 oz per pole · cork grip with extended down grip · carbide tips, snow and sand baskets, pole clip

    Carbon at eight point one ounces a pole for fifty-two dollars, with the same Quick Lock, cork grip and full terrain kit as this maker’s aluminum pairs — and a trekking pole clip nothing else here supplies.

    Best for: A walker who wants carbon under half a pound a pole with the baskets and tips already in the box

    ≈ $52

  8. Cascade Mountain Tech TP-AL-QL-EVA-3

    Quick Lock lever · 26–54 in · 6061 aircraft-grade aluminum · 10.5 oz per pole, the heaviest American figure here · EVA grip with an extended down grip · carbide tips, snow and mud baskets

    The same shaft, lock and terrain kit as this maker’s cork version at the same price, with an EVA down grip described as unrivalled in size — and half an ounce more a pole.

    Best for: A walker who prefers foam to cork and wants the longest lower grip in this group

    ≈ $30

  9. Cascade Mountain Tech TP-AL-QL-CORK-3

    Quick Lock lever · 26–54 in · 6061 aircraft-grade aluminum · 10 oz per pole · cork grip with extended EVA down grip · carbide tips, snow and mud baskets

    Ten ounces a pole of 6061 aluminum with a cork grip, an extended EVA down grip and a full terrain kit — and a 26-inch minimum, the longest in this group.

    Best for: A walker who wants cork, carbide and baskets for thirty dollars and does not fly with the poles

    ≈ $30

  10. Hiker Hunger Outfitters HH1

    Metal flip-lock lever · 24–55 in, the longest maximum on this shelf · 3K carbon · 7.6 oz per pole · cork grip with EVA extension · no tip and no basket listed

    Fifty-five inches is the longest maximum length published anywhere on this shelf, on a 3K carbon pair stated at 7.6 ounces a pole — and not one tip or basket appears among the contents.

    Best for: A tall walker who wants carbon and a metal lever lock, and already owns tips and baskets

    ≈ $60

  11. KINGGEAR TP

    Quick flip lock · 25.5–54 in · 7075 aviation-grade aluminum · cork grip with EVA below · eight attachments supplied · weight per pole not published

    The fullest accessory kit in this group — carbide points, two snow baskets, two mud baskets, two rubber tips and two Nordic boot tips — on a 7075 shaft the maker calls stronger than carbon fiber.

    Best for: A walker who wants every terrain attachment in the box and does not need a stated pole weight

    ≈ $27

  12. TrailBuddy 1A

    One-handed lever lock · 24.5 in collapsed and 21 in disassembled, both published · 24.5–54 in · 7075 aluminum · 9.7 oz per pole · cork grip · threaded tips

    The only listing on this shelf to publish a collapsed length and a disassembled length as two separate figures — 24.5 and 21 inches — on 7075 aluminum with threaded tips and one-handed lever locks.

    Best for: A walker who flies with their poles and wants the transport figure published rather than inferred

    ≈ $40

  13. Rhino USA AC-TOHIKST-BLK

    A single staff, not a pair · anodized aluminum · hollow sections with a compass, fire starter, fishing line, screwdriver and bottle opener · rubber tip · lock, lengths and weight not published

    The only single staff on this shelf and the most expensive listing in this group, with a survival kit stored inside hollow sections — and two of the nine figures this shelf compares.

    Best for: A walker who wants one staff carrying a compass, a fire starter and fishing tackle, and does not need published lengths

    ≈ $100

This family belongs to the walking and light kit — see everything that has to work with it.

The need before the model, across trekking poles

Stow the poles on the pack

Packed length decides what sticks out when they are not in use, on a scramble or on a train.

Alpteq

Spare the arms on descent

Weight per pole is paid at every step, thousands of times a day. It is the figure you feel.

Hiker Hunger Outfitters HH1 carbon fibre trekking poles, pair

Adapt to the ground

Maximum length decides the adjustment margin between a steep climb and a long descent.

PINUQUEST 162080

Who buys what, across trekking poles

Poles used every day
The published lock mechanism decides the gesture and what slips under load. It is the part that wears.
Mixed terrain
Published tip fittings decide the contact: carbide on rock, basket in snow, rubber on tarmac.
Minimum carrying
Shaft material and section count are read together: they explain both the weight and the packed length.

Nothing is free: the trade-offs of trekking poles

Section count against stiffness
More sections means shorter when packed and more joints. Every joint is a point of flex.
Shaft material against resilience
Carbon lightens and snaps clean; aluminum bends and can be straightened. The published material decides the failure mode.
Grip against sweat
The published grip material decides the hold bare-handed and wet. Cork, foam and plastic do not age alike.

Buyers’ questions on trekking poles

Which lock mechanism should be chosen?

The published mechanism decides adjustment with gloves on and holding under load. It is the most worked part.

Carbon or aluminum?

Shaft material is published. Carbon is lighter, aluminum survives being wedged between two rocks better.

How many sections are needed?

Section count decides packed length. More sections means shorter stowage and more joints.

What do tip fittings change?

Published tips decide the ground contact. They are replaceable, and they wear fastest.

How is length set?

Published maximum length gives the margin. The useful setting depends on the terrain and on the person’s height.

Is cork better than foam?

Grip material is published. Each behaves differently with sweat and cold.

Can poles pitch a tent?

Some tents provide for it. The published maximum length is the figure to hold against the tent’s manual.

How is a telescopic pole maintained?

Dismantling and drying instructions come from the maker. Nothing is prescribed here.

What to take away from trekking poles

Weight per pole is paid a thousand times a day, packed length is paid once at stowing, and the lock mechanism is paid the day it slips on a descent.

The gist of trekking poles, at a glance

    A comparison of trekking poles

    The table keeps only what four items in five declare. A half-empty column hands an advantage to whoever kept quiet.

    ModelPriceGrip materialMaximum lengthShaft materialWeight per pole
    Vihicamp Collapsible foldable hiking poles, pair$23Not named. The handle is described as contoured and non-slip with grooves for a secure hold, and the straps as soft and skin-friendly, but no cork, foam or rubber is stated. It is the only grip on this shelf whose material is unpublished49.2 in — 125 cm, stated, adjustable from 42.1 in or 107 cm (42.1 in), with a stated fit for heights from 63 to 72.8 in. That 7.1 in range is the narrowest on this shelf, and the maximum is the shortest in the American groupPremium-grade aluminum — stated, with resistance to impact, pressure and bending claimed, but the alloy grade is not given. It is the only aluminum in this group whose grade is not named, where 6061 and 7075 appear elsewhere9.5 oz per pole without accessories — stated as 270 g (9.5 oz), with the full set of two poles, all accessories and carry bags given as 22.2 oz or 630 g (22.2 oz). Both figures are published, which few listings here do
    Amazon Basics CY-SL36C122-3 collapsible trekking poles, 53 in, pair$26EVA handles, with an extended polyester down comfort grip below them — polyester is named on no other grip on this shelf — and adjustable breathable wrist straps53 in — stated, from 25.2 in. At 134.6 cm (53 in) it is the shortest maximum among the telescopic pairs in this group, every other one of which reaches 54 or 55 in6061 grade aluminum — stated twice, as offering exceptional strength and reliability on any terrain. The lower-strength of the two alloys named on this shelf9.3 to 10 oz per pole — stated as a range, which no other listing on this shelf does. Every other per-pole figure here is a single number, from 7.6 oz to 10.5 oz, and the spread of this one covers the gap between two different poles
    KINGGEAR TP trekking poles, 7075 aluminium, pair$27Natural cork, stated to wick sweat and to conform to the hand, with an EVA section below it to absorb sweat from the palm, and an adjustable breathable wristband54 in — stated, from 25.5 in, and offered as suiting the whole family. At 137 cm (53.9 in) it is above the 135 cm (53.1 in) ceiling of every European listing on this shelf7075 aluminum, stated as aviation grade, and claimed by the maker to be lighter than typical 6061 aluminum and stronger than carbon fiber. The shelf sells two carbon pairs; the claim is the maker’sNot published — on a listing whose first bullet is about being lighter than 6061 aluminum. Six of the nine American listings on this shelf publish a per-pole weight; this is not one of them
    Cascade Mountain Tech TP-AL-QL-EVA-3 aluminium quick-lock poles, EVA grip, pair$30Non-slip EVA foam, ergonomically shaped, with an extended EVA down grip the maker calls unrivalled in size for the space it gives the hand on steep inclines, and adjustable wrist straps54 in — stated, from 26 in. At 137 cm (53.9 in) it is above the 135 cm (53.1 in) ceiling of every European listing on this shelfAircraft-grade 6061 aluminum — stated, and described as extremely durable in blazing heat or frigid cold. The lower-strength of the two alloys named on this shelf10.5 oz per pole — stated per pole. The heaviest per-pole figure in the American group, and half an ounce above this maker’s own cork version at the same price; the European Nordmut pair on this shelf publishes 325 g (11.5 oz)
    Cascade Mountain Tech TP-AL-QL-CORK-3 aluminium quick-lock poles, cork grip, pair$30Ergonomic cork, stated to reduce vibration from uneven terrain, with an extended EVA down grip below it for additional hand placement on steep climbs, and adjustable wrist straps54 in — stated, from 26 in. At 137 cm (53.9 in) it is above the 135 cm (53.1 in) ceiling of every European listing on this shelfAircraft-grade 6061 aluminum — stated, and described as highly durable in all conditions. 6061 is the lower-strength alloy of the two on this shelf; the 7075 pairs here state the other10 oz per pole — stated per pole. Between the 9.7 oz of the 7075 TrailBuddy pair and the 10.5 oz of this maker’s own EVA-grip version, which costs the same
    TrailBuddy 1A trekking poles, 7075 aluminium, pair$40Moisture-wicking cork, stated to mold to the shape of the hand, with padded straps to prevent chafing. No lower grip extension is described54 in — stated, down to 24.5 in collapsed, and offered as doubling for children. At 137 cm (53.9 in) it is above the 135 cm (53.1 in) ceiling of every European listing on this shelf7075 aluminum, stated as elite aircraft grade and described as lighter, stronger and more durable than other aluminum poles. The higher-strength of the two alloys named on this shelf9.7 oz per pole — stated per pole. Lighter than both Cascade aluminum pairs at 10 and 10.5 oz, on the higher-strength alloy
    Cascade Mountain Tech TP-CF-QL-CORK-GY-3 carbon fibre quick-lock poles, pair$52Cork, stated to lower vibration as you step and to wick sweat, with an extended down grip below it for a quick transition onto inclined slopes, and adjustable wrist straps54 in — stated, from 26 in. At 137 cm (53.9 in) it is above the 135 cm (53.1 in) ceiling of every European listing on this shelfCarbon fiber — stated, and the reason given for the weight. No weave specification and no shaft diameter are published, where the Hiker Hunger carbon pair on this shelf states 3K8.1 oz per pole — stated, and described as less than a pound. About 230 g (8.1 oz); it is 1.9 oz under this maker’s own 6061 aluminum pair at the same lock and grip, and 0.5 oz over the carbon Hiker Hunger pair
    Hiker Hunger Outfitters HH1 carbon fibre trekking poles, pair$60Moisture-wicking ergonomic cork, with a non-slip EVA foam extension below it for steep climbs, and neoprene padded hand straps against chafing55 in — stated, from 24 in. At 139.7 cm (55 in) it is the longest maximum published on this shelf, European listings included, every one of which stops at 130 or 135 cm (53.1 in)3K carbon fiber, stated as 100 per cent, described as lighter and more versatile than aluminum. No shaft diameter is published7.6 oz per pole — stated per pole, which is about 215 g (7.6 oz). The lightest American figure on this shelf; the carbon Keytytar pair on the European side publishes 169 g (6 oz)
    Rhino USA AC-TOHIKST-BLK tactical hiking staff with survival kit$100A textured aluminum grip surface, with a paracord lanyard included. No cork, foam or rubber grip is stated, and no extended lower gripNot published. Adjustable height is stated without figures, so neither the top nor the bottom of the range is known. Every other listing in this group publishes a rangeAnodized aluminum, described as heavy-duty, with a textured grip surface. The alloy grade is not stated, where 6061 and 7075 are named elsewhere in this groupNot published. The only figure available is a parcel weight, which covers the staff, the pouch, the tools and the paracord
    Alpteq———Carbon 3K — stated231 g (8.1 oz) — stated
    Atacama AB-055—Cork, in a dual-grip arrangement stated to follow the shape of the hand, with adjustable straps135 cm (53.1 in) — stated; the poles adjust from 110 cm (43.3 in)3K carbon combined with lightweight 7075 aluminum — both stated, and stated to give the shaft its spring and stability270 g (9.5 oz) per pole — stated explicitly per trekking pole
    DOBESTS Dsz-schwarz New—EVA foam — stated, ergonomically shaped, with adjustable straps and anti-slip grooves130 cm (51.2 in) — stated; the poles adjust from 110 cm (43.3 in), and the maker states the range suits walkers of roughly 160 to 190 cm (63 to 74.8 in)7075 aluminum — stated, described as lightweight with an easy-care surfaceAbout 260 g (9.2 oz) per pole — stated explicitly per pole
    PINUQUEST 162080—Cork, with a soft grip extension below the head and an extra-soft wrist strap — stated135 cm (53.1 in) — stated; the poles adjust from 63 cm (24.8 in), and the maker states the range suits heights of roughly 95 to 200 cm (37.4 to 78.7 in)Aluminum — stated in the title for this reference; a carbon version is also offered260 g (9.2 oz) per pole for the aluminum version — stated; the maker also states 210 g (7.4 oz) per pole for the carbon version, and the title names this reference as aluminum

    What a budget carries on this shelf

    The guides devoted to trekking poles

    Sources, and how we rank it

    Specifications: manufacturer sheets for camping and hiking gear and the matching Amazon product pages. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure in this table names its source.

    Most recent revision in this category: October 31, 2026.

    What we look at on trekking poles

    Prices in these summaries were read on the dates each review gives. The live figure sits beside every product.