Skip to content

Rhino USA AC-TOHIKST-BLK review

The only single staff on this shelf and the most expensive listing in this group, with a survival kit stored inside hollow sections — and two of the nine figures this shelf compares.

On the maker’s own page

A tactical hiking staff with a built-in survival kit.

Rhino USA states a compass, fire starter, fishing line and tackle, screwdriver and bottle opener stored in the bag, with the instruction to review each section before heading out; heavy-duty anodized aluminum construction with a textured grip surface and a paracord lanyard; adjustable height and a rubber tip for shock absorption on rocky and uneven ground, usable as a trekking pole or a walking cane; hollow sections for storing small trail essentials beyond the included tools, with a camo pouch that organizes all sections and accessories for compact transport; and a lifetime replacement guarantee.

No lock. No maximum length. No minimum. No section count. No weight. No basket.

One staff, not a pair

The only one on this shelf.

Every other listing here, American and European, is two poles. This is one, at a hundred dollars.

A staff plants centrally and leaves a hand free. It shares load across the knees less evenly than a pair, and it is offered here as a trekking pole or a walking cane.

Two figures out of nine

What the listing publishes about the pole.

Anodized aluminum, and a rubber tip.

Not the alloy grade, where 6061 and 7075 are named elsewhere in this group. Not the lock, which this shelf’s introduction calls the thing poles are regretted on. Not the maximum length, not the minimum, not the section count, not the weight, and no basket for snow or mud.

Adjustable height is stated with no number attached.

The kit is the product

A container that walks.

Compass, fire starter, fishing line and tackle, screwdriver, bottle opener — in the pouch and in the hollow sections, which also take your own small items.

The instruction to review each section before setting out is the right one. A kit never opened is a kit that cannot be used.

Availability

The American Amazon store was listing it at about $100 at the time of writing.

Every figure here is what Keepa held on the day this page was last revised. Offers and prices shift without warning.

Prices quoted in this text were read on October 8, 2026. The live price is at the top of the page.

What it does well, and where it gives way

Strengths

  • A compass, a fire starter, fishing line and tackle, a screwdriver and a bottle opener, carried inside the staff
  • Hollow sections usable for small trail essentials beyond the supplied tools
  • A camo pouch organizes the sections and the accessories as one item
  • A paracord lanyard is included
  • A lifetime replacement guarantee is stated
  • Serves as a staff or a walking cane, and the rubber tip is stated for shock absorption

Compromises

  • Seven of the nine figures this shelf compares are absent
  • No maximum and no minimum length at all, where every other listing here publishes a range
  • No lock named, which this shelf's introduction calls the thing poles are regretted on
  • A single staff at a hundred dollars, where every other listing in this group is a pair
  • An aluminum grip surface rather than cork or foam, and no extended lower grip
  • No basket of any kind, and no carbide point for rock or ice

Specifications

Lock mechanismNot published. The staff is stated to be adjustable in height and no lever, twist collar or push-button is named. It is one of only two listings in this group that name no lock at all
Packed lengthNot published. The sections separate and a camo carrying pouch is stated to organize all sections and accessories for compact transport, with no dimension given
Maximum lengthNot published. Adjustable height is stated without figures, so neither the top nor the bottom of the range is known. Every other listing in this group publishes a range
Shaft materialAnodized aluminum, described as heavy-duty, with a textured grip surface. The alloy grade is not stated, where 6061 and 7075 are named elsewhere in this group
Section countNot published. Each section is stated to be hollow and usable for storing small trail essentials; how many there are is not said
Weight per poleNot published. The only figure available is a parcel weight, which covers the staff, the pouch, the tools and the paracord
Grip materialA textured aluminum grip surface, with a paracord lanyard included. No cork, foam or rubber grip is stated, and no extended lower grip
Tip fittingA rubber tip, stated to give shock absorption and protection on rocky and uneven ground. The fitting is not named and no carbide point is offered
Basket fittingNot published — no snow or mud basket is offered or mentioned
Amazon referenceB0F29W5KDD
EAN0810109894413

What people ask before buying

Is this one staff or a pair?

One. Every other listing on this shelf, American and European, is a pair of poles; this is a single walking staff, and that is the first thing to understand about the hundred-dollar price. A staff is used differently from a pair: one hand stays free, the plant is central rather than alternating, and the load on the knees is shared less evenly. The listing offers it as a trekking pole or a walking cane for trail support, which is honest about what it is.

What does it actually publish about the pole itself?

Two of the nine figures this shelf compares: the shaft is anodized aluminum, and the tip is rubber. Not the alloy grade, not the lock, not the maximum length, not the minimum, not the number of sections, not a weight, and no basket. Adjustable height is stated without a single number attached, and each section is said to be hollow without saying how many sections there are. If you are choosing on the figures this shelf's introduction sets out, there is almost nothing here to choose on.

Is the survival kit the point?

It is the whole point. A compass, a fire starter, fishing line and tackle, a screwdriver and a bottle opener live in the bag and in the hollow sections, and the listing asks you to review each section before setting out — which is the right instruction, because a kit you have never opened is a kit you cannot use. The hollow sections also take your own small items. What you are buying is a container that walks, and what you are giving up is every published figure a trekking pole is normally compared on.

Against the rest of the camping gear

Close prices, same category: comparable camping gear. We keep only the specifications all of them publish, because a column with gaps compares nothing.

Model Price Lock mechanismPacked lengthMaximum lengthShaft material
Rhino USA AC-TOHIKST-BLK $100 Not published. The staff is stated to be adjustable in height and no lever, twist collar or push-button is named. It is one of only two listings in this group that name no lock at allNot published. The sections separate and a camo carrying pouch is stated to organize all sections and accessories for compact transport, with no dimension givenNot published. Adjustable height is stated without figures, so neither the top nor the bottom of the range is known. Every other listing in this group publishes a rangeAnodized aluminum, described as heavy-duty, with a textured grip surface. The alloy grade is not stated, where 6061 and 7075 are named elsewhere in this group
Hiker Hunger Outfitters HH1 $60 Flip lock lever — named, and stated to use metal locks rather than plastic. The listing sets it explicitly against twist locks and against folding poles that slide out. Seven of the nine American listings on this shelf name an external lever of some kind, and not one names a twist lock or a Z-fold buttonNot published as a separate figure. The poles are stated retractable from 24 in, which is the bottom of the adjustment range; whether that is also the transport length is never said, and no folded or disassembled figure appears55 in — stated, from 24 in. At 139.7 cm (55 in) it is the longest maximum published on this shelf, European listings included, every one of which stops at 130 or 135 cm (53.1 in)3K carbon fiber, stated as 100 per cent, described as lighter and more versatile than aluminum. No shaft diameter is published
Cascade Mountain Tech TP-CF-QL-CORK-GY-3 $52 Quick Lock — named, an external lever, stated to be easy to use and reliable for holding the pole at the chosen height. It is the type this shelf's introduction recommends for cold handsNot published. A carry bag is listed and the bottom of the adjustment range is 26 in; no folded or transport figure appears54 in — stated, from 26 in. At 137 cm (53.9 in) it is above the 135 cm (53.1 in) ceiling of every European listing on this shelfCarbon fiber — stated, and the reason given for the weight. No weave specification and no shaft diameter are published, where the Hiker Hunger carbon pair on this shelf states 3K
TrailBuddy 1A $40 Lever locks, stated to be operable with one hand and set explicitly against the two-handed twist locks on other walking sticks. This is the external type this shelf's introduction recommends, and the one-handed claim is made by no other listing in this group24.5 in collapsed and 21 in disassembled — two figures, published separately, with a stated claim that the poles are compact enough for a backpack or carry-on. It is the only listing on this shelf to distinguish the two, and the distinction is exactly what this shelf's buying tip asks for54 in — stated, down to 24.5 in collapsed, and offered as doubling for children. At 137 cm (53.9 in) it is above the 135 cm (53.1 in) ceiling of every European listing on this shelf7075 aluminum, stated as elite aircraft grade and described as lighter, stronger and more durable than other aluminum poles. The higher-strength of the two alloys named on this shelf

What separates the models, in camping gear

  • If price decides: TrailBuddy 1A, at $40.

The buyer this one serves, among camping gear

A walker who wants one staff carrying a compass, a fire starter and fishing tackle, and does not need published lengths

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 200.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for camping and hiking gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this camping gear