Skip to content

EXPLORER GRÖNLAND double-layer mummy bag review

A large mummy bag that names a comfort temperature of around 0 °C (0 °F), publishes weight, packed size and a full cut, and names no standard behind the figure.

What this listing puts on record

A lying area of 230 × 82 × 55 cm (90.6 × 32.3 × 21.7 in), a weight of 1900 g (67 oz), a packed size of 24 × 30 cm (9.4 × 11.8 in) in a compression sack, a 350 GSM double-layer fill, a Pongee polyester lining, a comfort temperature given as around 0 °C (0 °F), a breathable rustle-free outer with a PFC-free water-repellent coating, and a double anti-snag band at the zip. The title carries -23 °C (-9 °F) and -5 °C (23 °F).

Three temperatures, one of them useful

The bullet says it plainly: the comfort temperature for warm nights is around 0 °C (0 °F), at a fill of 350 GSM. That is a comfort figure, named as such, attached to a fill density. It is the most complete temperature claim of any bag in this group.

The title’s -23 °C (-9 °F) and -5 °C (23 °F) are a different matter. Neither is labeled, both sit far below the comfort figure, and no standard is named for any of the three. Under EN 13537 or ISO 23537 the figures would come from a heated-mannequin test with the standard cited; here they do not.

The cut, and who it is for

230 cm (90.6 in) long is unusually generous — most mummy bags on this shelf stop at 210 or 220 cm (86.6 in). 82 cm (32.3 in) at the shoulder tapering to 55 cm (21.7 in) at the foot is a normal mummy profile. If you are tall, this is the one here that fits.

The weight it costs

1900 g (67 oz). That is the price of 350 GSM in two layers across a 230 cm (90.6 in) bag, and it is why the packed roll is 24 × 30 cm (9.4 × 11.8 in).

Before ordering

Buy it on the 0 °C (0 °F) comfort figure and the 230 cm (90.6 in) length. Treat the title’s numbers as marketing, because nothing in the listing explains them.

Availability

The American Amazon store returned nothing, so the buy link opens a local search rather than a page that is not there.

Every figure here is what Keepa held on the day this page was last revised. Offers and prices shift without warning.

What it does well, and where it gives way

Strengths

  • Names a comfort temperature explicitly — around 0 °C (0 °F) — rather than leaving a range unlabelled
  • Publishes the full cut at 230 × 82 × 55 cm (90.6 × 32.3 × 21.7 in), a weight of 1900 g (67 oz) and a packed size of 24 × 30 cm (9.4 × 11.8 in)
  • States a PFC-free water-repellent coating, which names both the treatment and what it leaves out

Compromises

  • No standard is named, so the around 0 °C (0 °F) figure is not comparable with a tested comfort rating
  • The title’s -23 °C (-9 °F) and -5 °C (23 °F) are unlabelled and sit well below the stated comfort figure, with nothing published to connect them
  • At 1900 g (67 oz) it is the heaviest bag in this group, and 350 GSM is a density rather than the grams of fill it carries

Where this model is listed

A listing is not an offer: the reference exists on these stores, availability changes daily.

  • Germany
  • Spain
  • United Kingdom

Specifications

Comfort ratingAround 0 °C (0 °F) — stated as the comfort temperature; no standard is named, so it is an unstandardized figure
Limit ratingNot stated as a limit — the title carries -23 °C (-9 °F) and -5 °C (23 °F), neither labeled, and no standard is named
Standard quotedNone named — neither EN 13537 nor ISO 23537 appears in the listing
Fill powerNot published on the listing — fill power describes down, and this bag is stated as polyester
Fill weightNo weight published — the maker publishes 350 GSM, a fill density in grams per square meter
Down or syntheticSynthetic — stated as polyester, in a double-layer fill
Shell denierNot published on the listing — a soft, breathable, rustle-free outer with a PFC-free water-repellent coating is described, with no yarn weight
Baffle constructionDouble-layer fill — stated; the baffle pattern itself is not given
Packed size24 × 30 cm (9.4 × 11.8 in) — stated, in the supplied compression sack
Weight1900 g (67 oz) — stated, with no label saying what is counted
Amazon referenceB0CNTSQ9B1
EAN4011739601358

What people ask before buying

What does a double-layer fill mean?

Two layers of wadding offset against each other, so the stitch lines of one are covered by the body of the other. It removes the cold seams that a single quilted layer leaves, and it is why a 350 GSM bag can be warmer than the figure alone suggests.

Why does PFC-free matter?

Per- and polyfluorinated compounds were the standard chemistry for durable water repellency and are being phased out on environmental grounds. A PFC-free finish beads water less aggressively and is renewed with different products, so it is worth knowing which one you have before washing the bag.

Does EXPLORER publish a limit rating?

No. Not stated as a limit — the title carries -23 °C (-9 °F) and -5 °C (23 °F), neither labeled, and no standard is named. What the listing does publish instead is the comfort rating: Around 0 °C (0 °F) — stated as the comfort temperature; no standard is named, so it is an unstandardized figure.

Our score

7.8/ 10

The one bag here that says the words comfort temperature and gives a single figure. At 1900 g (67 oz) it is a driven-to bag rather than a carried one, and the title numbers should be ignored in favor of the 0 °C (0 °F) the listing actually explains.

The buyer this one serves, among camping gear

Taller sleepers camping in the cold shoulder seasons, where a 230 cm (90.6 in) bag and a stated comfort figure matter more than carried weight.

The camping gear guides it appears in

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 100.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for camping and hiking gear and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

What we look at on this camping gear

Prices in these summaries were read on the dates each review gives. The live figure sits beside every product.