Skip to content

ALPIDEX four-season mummy bag, 400 GSM fill vs gipfelsport four-season mummy bag

Identical on the scales — so which of the two tells you what its numbers mean?

Both bags weigh the same on the listing: 1.55 kg (3.4 lb) on one, 1550 g (54.7 oz) on the other. From there they diverge on labeling rather than on kit. ALPIDEX splits a comfort figure from a limit figure and says its weight is a total; gipfelsport publishes a pair of temperatures with neither end named and a weight with nothing said about what it counts, and answers with a packed size the other one never gives.

ALPIDEX black four-season mummy sleeping bag with a padded hood and a two-way zip

ALPIDEX four-season mummy bag, 400 GSM fill

7.8/10

Wins 4 of 9

Search Amazon

gipfelsport ultralight mummy sleeping bag with a thermal collar and a compression stuff sack

gipfelsport four-season mummy bag

7.8/10

Wins 1 of 9

Search Amazon

Gram against gram

Compared on four-season mummy bag, 400 GSM fill four-season mummy bag
Comfort rating +4 °C (39 °F), stated Not stated as a comfort figure — the title publishes -20 °C (-4 °F) and -5 °C (23 °F), neither of them labeled
Limit rating -2 °C (28 °F), stated Not stated as a limit figure — the same unlabelled pair is all that is published
Standard quoted None named — neither EN 13537 nor ISO 23537 appears None named — neither EN 13537 nor ISO 23537 appears
Fill density 400 GSM, a fill density in grams per square meter 300 g/m² (8.8 oz/yd²), a fill density in grams per square meter
Fill Synthetic, stated as entirely polyester Synthetic, stated as polyester
Shell denier Not published — a hard-wearing water-repellent outer, with no yarn weight Not published — a breathable rustle-free lining, with no fabric or yarn weight
Stated weight 1.55 kg (3.4 lb) 1550 g (54.7 oz)
What the weight figure covers Stated as the total weight Not published — no label says what is counted
Packed size Not published — a compression sack is supplied and the pack size is described only as small 38 × 23 cm (15 × 9.1 in), with straps to compress the stuff sack further
Listed on amazon.com No No

Each tick belongs to its own line and nothing more. The row of ticks is not a score: the two verdicts underneath settle the page, because these two answer different questions on the trail.

Which of the two, for which walk

ALPIDEX four-season mummy bag, 400 GSM fill

No amazon.com listing was found for this one. We hold references for other markets but none for the United States, so it may not be buyable here — which is the first thing to weigh against anything below.

The ALPIDEX is the one that puts its cards down: +4 °C (39 °F) and -2 °C (28 °F) published separately, 400 GSM of fill, and a weight it calls a total. It also publishes a third figure, -17 °C (1 °F), as an extreme value, which is not a temperature anyone plans a night around. Nothing here is standardised, but at least each number says what it is meant to be.

gipfelsport four-season mummy bag

No amazon.com listing was found for this one. We hold references for other markets but none for the United States, so it may not be buyable here — which is the first thing to weigh against anything below.

The gipfelsport is the same 1550 g (54.7 oz) with a smaller published pack: 38 × 23 cm (15 × 9.1 in), and a stuff sack with compression straps, which is the figure that decides whether it goes inside your bag or under it. Its -20 °C (-4 °F) and -5 °C (23 °F) arrive as an unlabelled pair, so the listing gives you two temperatures and no way of telling which is which.

What people ask before buying

Why does an unlabelled pair of temperatures cause a problem?

Because comfort, limit and extreme are three different figures with three different meanings, and a pair given without labels could be any two of them. Reading the colder end as the usable one is exactly the mistake the labels exist to prevent.

Is 400 GSM warmer than 300 g/m² (8.8 oz/yd²)?

The two units are the same thing, grams per square meter of fill, so the figures are directly comparable and 400 is the denser fill. It still describes the insulation per unit area rather than the total insulation in the bag, which depends on the cut and on how much of it there is.

The full page for both

Prices in these summaries were read on the dates each review gives. The live figure sits beside every product.